Shared Contacts for Gmail levels up in providing data privacy to its users. Not all contact data such as birthdays, postal addresses, or even notes from the contact list owner are relevant to all team members. Hence, the hidden fields feature offers strategic means to control information visibility and securely safeguard sensitive data.
These are the steps to hide certain contact information shared among team members.
Only those with owner permission status can update the hidden fields. To learn more about permission status, click here.
When sharing the label, all contact fields automatically become visible to collaborators, denoted by the default blue eye icon.
As the owner of the contact list, you retain full visibility of all details for each contact. Meanwhile, collaborators no longer have access to the contact fields that you have chosen to hide.
1. If assigned as a manager, collaborators will retain visibility of the ‘Fields’ option but will be restricted from modifying hidden fields. A warning prompt will appear if an attempt to modify is made.
2. Collaborators with an Editor or higher permission level can still input data on the assigned hidden fields. However, despite clicking ‘save,’ these changes will not be reflected in the contact information.