When employees leave a company or a user no longer needs access to shared contacts anymore we recommend removing that user from all labels they were invited to, to avoid using a license for them.
Time needed: 2 minutes.
Follow the following procedure in order to remove a departed user:
Click on the “Sign in with Google” button on the top.
‘Users & Licenses’ gives you an overview of the status and the labels users belong to.
To liberate a license, you need to click on the icon that will appear when user hovers their mouse between the licensed status and the labels columns
Attention: After liberating the licenses of a user, he will lose access to all the contacts that were shared with them.
It is likely that the old users were suspended or deleted from the customer’s Google Workspace admin console prior to the admin unsharing contact labels first. To fix this, simply launch Shared Contacts and unshare the old users.
And that is how you can easily free up a license in your Shared Contacts for Gmail® account.