Employees naturally change roles, departments, or even career paths. This means their contact lists (labels) need to be delegated to a new owner to be managed. Admins that need to transfer ownership of their labels, to another team member, for them to take responsibility for is made simple thanks to Shared Contacts for Gmail®.
When a user creates a label, by default, they become the owner. Thus, have complete control over collaborator access permissions as well as contact management. By handing over this title, the original owner loses all rights to manage the label. This happens unless he’s given suitable access permissions by the decision of the new owner.
Time needed: 1 minute.
The simplest way to change ownership of a contact label is to do so from our web application, follow these simple steps to get it done in a matter of minutes:
Note, in this step, users have the option to select to sync these shared contacts with the collaborators’ mobile devices and Outlook. If you want to change access permission on an already existing collaborator, skip to Step 3.
In this step, you have the option to manage permissions for people with whom you are sharing the label (Owner / Can Share / Can Delete / Can Add and Edit / Can View). For this scenario, we will click “Owner”, changing the collaborators’ previous permission status from “Can View”.
By clicking continue, the user understands that they are giving, the given collaborator, ownership rights which relinquishes Michael’s (original owner) rights to edit users sharing permissions.
You can also directly transfer ownership of a label from the following Apps:
Stay up to date and on the ball by sharing Google contacts directly from your iPhone or Android mobile devices. Do this at any place or moment in time!
Read on How to Share Google Contacts with your Mobile article for more insight into this method.
Users may want to share their Google contacts directly from his Google Contacts interface. To do so, they should use the Shared Google Contacts Chrome Chrome plug-in. Have a look at the step-by-step guide on How To Utilize Shared Contacts for Gmail® Chrome Extension
The Shared Contacts Gmail Add-On is built in directly from the ‘+’ icon on the right-hand side of your Gmail interface. This allows Gmail users to have the luxury of sharing, adding, and managing their contact labels on their Gmail dashboard.
Check out How to Share a Contact Label Directly From Gmail for some extra tips!
You have successfully changed ownership of a contact label without having to download or upload any file, thanks to Shared Contacts for Gmail®.